Several sites, including Facebook and LinkedIn, allow executors to "Memorialize" a users profile upon the users passing. Typically, this freezes the profile from further updates, but keeps it online for a period of time on their platform as a remembrance.
It's important to note that the duration for which a memorialized profile remains online can vary from platform to platform, and in some cases, it may not be specified at all. Over time, certain platforms taken down memorialized profiles, or have gone offline entirely, as seen with examples like Myspace.
What other disadvantages are there of Memorializing a profile?
We recommend utilizing the Memorialize option when available, and this can be specified for available providers in the Digital Wishes section of your Eternal Dashboard. However, if you're interested in ensuring a permanent online identity, Memorializing is insufficient and we suggest taking advantage of our Eternalize option, which preserves the content for the entire lifespan of the Internet.